Governing Body

The Governing Body of the Borough of Park Ridge consists of a Mayor and six member Borough Council.  Council members are elected at partisan elections for staggered three-year terms.  At the annual reorganization meeting, the Council elects one member as its President.  This year, on January 1, 2017, Councilman Keith Misciagna was elected Council President. 

The Mayor is elected separately every four years. The mayor shall preside over meetings of the Council and may, in the event of a tie, cast the deciding ballot.  Otherwise he shall not vote. The Mayor also has the power to veto ordinances in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 40:93-5.  Such veto may be overturned by a two-thirds vote of the Council.

Mayor and Council will hold Closed/Executive Session Meetings at 6:45 p.m., followed by Agenda/Work Session meetings, prior to the start of each Public Meeting, in which no action will be taken.

The executive power of the Borough is exercised, subject to the approval of the Borough Council, by the Mayor, who has the responsibility of implementing policies of the Borough Council and who functions as liaison officer between the Borough Council, municipal personnel and residents of the Borough.

<------- Begin Tracking Code -------- > <------- End Tracking Code ------ >